John / Mystery

When the Thrill Is Gone by Walter Mosley

5108B22qYPL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The third novel in Walter Mosley’s Leonid McGill series, When the Thrill Is Gone tells the story of private eye McGill taking on the case of a young woman who fears that her rich husband, whose first two wives died under mysterious circumstances, may kill her as well. There are plenty of twists and turns in the novel, including characters turning out not to be who they say they are. Mosley does an excellent job developing Leonid and many supporting characters. He is also able to bring to life the various New York City boroughs the case takes Leonid to.
While I have not read the first two books in the series, I was still able to easily follow When the Thrill Is Gone. There were a few times that the number of characters overwhelmed me a little, but it’s likely these characters first appeared in earlier books in the series and will be further developed as the Leonid McGill mysteries continue.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s