Award Winning / Karen / Science Fiction

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

The_Age_Of_Miracles_NovelThe Age of Miracles is a very unique novel. Clearly written for adults but with a very teen-like theme, it is the story of Julia, a typical California middle-schooler who is about to experience the biggest catastrophe the world has ever seen. The earth’s rotation has changed, and scientists are calling this period “the slowing”. Gravity has been altered, and this causes devastation all over. Each day, the 24-hour-day is just a little longer. At first, it is just a few minutes. But eventually, it becomes longer. And longer. The sun is getting stronger. And hotter. The food supply is in trouble. Plants are in trouble. The birds are all dying. Whales are beaching themselves. And all 11-year-old Julia and her family can do is try and cope. And hope.

Karen

Read-alike: Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s