Karen / Mainstream Fiction / Women's Fiction

The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry

9205766Never in a million years would I have picked The Kitchen Daughter off the shelf to read, but luckily one of our patrons (thank you Patty!) told me that this was one of the best books she had ever read. Since I know that she is quite the reader, I jumped on her recommendation and am so glad I did. This is the story of Ginny, who recently lost both her parents in an accident and is now living alone. Ginny has been sheltered her whole life because, well, Ginny is different. She cannot look strangers in the eye, she does not like to be touched, and hides in closets when nervous. Ginny has a sister that is very worried about her, and wants Ginny to move in with her and her family and sell the house. But Ginny just wants to be left alone and cook. You see, cooking is Ginny’s coping mechanism and calming method. Ginny is doing a lot of cooking these days, and just imagine how Ginny feels when, after making one of her beloved grandmother’s recipes, her Nonna shows up in her kitchen!

Not only is this a sad, sweet story, but many of the chapters begin with some great recipes.

Karen

Read-alike: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender (but not as sad!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s