Historical Fiction / Karen

Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures by Emma Straub

13588166Elsa Emerson is your typical small town Wisconsin girl until tragedy strikes her family. After this event occurs, Elsa has one goal – to get out of Wisconsin and move to Hollywood. Her father runs a small playhouse that hires actors on in the summer, and here is where Elsa gets her chance. She meets a young man who has the same goal as her – to be a star. So off they go…

Spanning five decades, Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures covers the life of a starlet. Starting in the 1930s, in a time where Hollywood manufactured their stars and ran every aspect of their lives, we see Elsa Emerson go from an ordinary girl to Laura Lamont, Hollywood actress. But this is not your typical story; this book focuses on the real people, not the glitz and glamour. A real behind-the-scenes look at how movies used to be made.

Karen

Read-alike: Sins of the Mother by Tara Hyland

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s