Karen / Mainstream Fiction / Women's Fiction

A Wedding in Great Neck by Yona Zeldis McDonough

51ZOx4d-OLL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_I just love novels about weddings. And families. And I especially love novels about weddings and messed up families, and A Wedding in Great Neck certainly fits the bill. The novel begins on the morning of “the big day” and introduces the readers to the Silverstein family. The beautiful spoiled bride Angelica, her separated and somewhat dowdy sister Gretchen, her sensitive gay brother Caleb, and her arrogant oldest brother Teddy. Add to that the recovering alcoholic father that hasn’t been seen for awhile, the socialite mother, the spunky grandmother, and Gretchen’s troubled teen twins as well as her soon-to-be ex, and you can see where this is heading. The wedding is being held on Angelica’s mother’s estate where everything is picture perfect…but only on the outside of course. Just wait until you see what’s happening on the inside…

Karen

Readalike: Seating Arrangements  by Maggie Shipstead

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s