Gentle Reads / Karen / Mainstream Fiction / Women's Fiction

The Cherry Cola Book Club by Ashton Lee

13613777The best way to describe The Cherry Cola Book Club: a cozy with no mystery.

Maura Beth Mayhew is a young librarian working in the small town of Cherico, Mississippi. She truly loves her job and more importantly, the tiny, quaint library that she is in charge of. However, not everyone in Cherico feels the same way. The city council wants to use the funds that would normally go to the Library to bring in an industrial park. Maura Beth is shocked when she is given just five months to bring up her circulation figures and prove the Library is relevant.

Maura Beth is really in trouble. As it stands, the city council has never given her enough funds to stay relevant. They would not even fund computers so patrons could use the Internet!

At a loss as to what to do, Maura Beth seeks solace from her best friend and owner of the most popular cafe in the area. There, she meets Connie, a woman that has recently moved from Nashville. Connie loves reading, and gives Maura Beth an idea. Why not start a book club featuring important Southern women writers? Surely that might increase Library usage.

Now Maura Beth and her friends are off and running, trying to save the Library. But can they do it in time?

While this is a nice story about friends in a small town setting, it does address an issue that really is affecting libraries all across the country.

Karen

Read-alike: Book, Line and Sinker by Jenn McKinlay

Advertisements

One thought on “The Cherry Cola Book Club by Ashton Lee

  1. I especially liked this book because I also am in a book club. Thanks to a friend who organized it almost ten years ago! The characters in the book remind me of the town in which I live in Mississippi . Though it is much larger now with a vibrant library, in the past I am sure there were struggles. I can't wait to discuss this book with my book club .

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s