John / Memoir / Nonfiction

Wild Tales by Graham Nash

If I could change one thing about Wild Tales,  Graham Nash’s autobiography, it would be to make it into a book focusing solely on Nash’s friendship with fellow Crosby, Stills, and Nash member David Crosby. The sections of the book featuring Crosby truly live up to the title Wild Tales. The most memorable Crosby tale that Nash recounts is when Crosby’s drug problem became so extreme that he freebased cocaine on a commercial airline flight, hiding under a blanket with his pipe so the stewardesses wouldn’t see what he was up to. Nash also recounts the difficulties he and other celebrity musicians, such as Jackson Browne, had in trying to get Crosby into rehab.

Other sections of Wild Tales are enjoyable and surprising. While growing up in Manchester, England, Nash’s father was sent away to prison. It isn’t until years later that Nash learns the real reason why he was incarcerated. In addition to discussing the many ups and downs of Crosby, Stills, and Nash (and occasionally Neil Young), Nash discusses his time with the British pop group The Hollies.

Wild Tales is less successful when Nash moves away from his music career to talk about other pursuits, such as his love of art. While Wild Tales is a decent rock memoir, it left me hoping that David Crosby comes out with his own book soon.

John

Read-alikes: Waging Heavy Peace by Neil Young;  Sweet Judy Blue Eyes : My Life in Musicby  Judy Collins

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s