Horror / Karen

Bliss House by Laura Benedict

downloadBliss House is one of those great, creepy novels where the main character is really the house. It is the house that holds all of the secrets, the house that makes ordinary people do extraordinary things, and the house that is the one in charge. And we all know when the house is in charge, nothing good happens.

Rainey Bliss Adams needs a place to hide. She and her daughter Ariel have just gone through a horrible tragedy in St. Louis, and Rainey decides that this old family home in rural Virginia might just give them the peace they need to get on with their lives. After all, Bliss House has been in Rainey’s family since the late 1800s, and although there have been a few tragedies associated with the property, Rainey is sure she made the right decision. That is, until a death occurs at her first party. A death her damaged daughter may or may not have witnessed. Just what exactly did Ariel see?

With all the elements of one of those old, gothic-style novels, you will not be able to put this one down.

Karen

Read-alike: The Haunting of Hill House Shirley Jackson.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s