Domestic Fiction / Karen / Psychological / Suspense/Thriller / Women's Fiction

Her by Harriet Lane

download (1)Her is a slow moving psychological thriller that leaves more questions than answers.

The book begins with successful, poised, well off artist Nina catching sight of exhausted, poor, overwhelmed Emma. A flood of very bad memories hits Nina, but she befriends Emma (who does not recognize her) anyway. Of course, Nina’s way of befriending Emma is quite different than you would expect. The word that comes to mind is menacing…
Tension builds as the novel continues, until the reader understands that something very bad is going to happen. But we just do not know why.

Told from both Emma’s and Nina’s perspectives, the past unfolds in little snippets in each chapter.

If you have a lot of patience, you may enjoy this novel.

Karen

Read-alike: The Playdate by Louise Millar

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s