Fiction / Henry / Science Fiction

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants 17 years ago, a young Rose Franklin was riding her bike near her home in South Dakota when she fell into a hole; and straight into the palm of a giant, metallic hand.  Now a distinguished scientist, working for the University of Chicago, Dr. Franklin is recruited by the military to help study the very hand she fell into all those many years ago, and to help uncover the rest of the pieces of the giant, robot skeleton now being found left scattered across the globe.

 Told from the perspective of multiple characters throughout the book, “Sleeping Giants” is a well conceived and pleasantly suspenseful novel.  Fans of Michael Crichton and Andy Weir will love the way Neuvel weaves theoretical science and psychology into a book that presents the reader with a lot of thought provoking “what if” scenarios: a hallmark of any good science fiction writing.

I found the many perspectives presented in the book kept me on my toes, and really helped me get into the minds of many of the characters.  This was a quick read, and a well thought out novel that really engages the reader.  I was very pleasantly surprised by “Sleeping Giants”, and I’ll definitely be picking up the second book in the series.  Just don’t get too attached to any of the main characters…  They don’t always last very long!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s